1 2
ScreaminE
ScreaminE Reader
5/1/14 3:45 p.m.

FE Exam (Fundamentals of Engineering). Been studying again for this test. This is not my first time taking this exam. Failed it while being a slacker student and put it off out of self doubt that I could ever pass. 6 years out of school plus some time back in grad school I'm at it again. Been studying (re learning all of the 18 subjects. Close to everything I studied in school. Some subjects I haven't seen in 10 years.

I'm really committed this time and I AM going to pass this damn'd test if it kills me. Baby 2 comes in late August, so I'm studying nearly day and night to get this test taken by late July/Early August. This has been my professional Achilles heel, and I must get this passed before I can even sit for the PE exam. Wish me luck.

fritzsch
fritzsch Dork
5/1/14 6:15 p.m.

Ahhh yes, Ill be taking that next year. What major were you? It sounds like you need it and your PE to advance, did you study civil or something? The FE really isn't necessary for Mech Eng, but Ill probably take it anyway.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn PowerDork
5/1/14 6:19 p.m.

Good luck.

I didn't get around to going for my PE license until after I'd been out of school for 20 years. The good thing about that is I had enough work experience that I didn't have to take the FE exam. The bad thing was I'd had 20 years to forget all that stuff I learned in school, so I had to do a LOT of studying for the PE exam.

ScreaminE
ScreaminE Reader
5/1/14 6:59 p.m.

I'm civil (geotechnical).

N Sperlo
N Sperlo MegaDork
5/1/14 7:06 p.m.

When I take exams, all words lose their meanings.

ToplesS2
ToplesS2 New Reader
5/1/14 7:57 p.m.

Best of luck to you. Guessing you can take the PE immediately after passing the FE. It's been almost 20 years since I took my PE but recall thinking at the time it was easier than the FE if that's any consolation.

Teh E36 M3
Teh E36 M3 SuperDork
5/1/14 8:16 p.m.

Is this the new version of the EIT?

Slippery